Transport Department, Government of West Bengal is administering its activities through its 19 District Transport Offices (RTOs), 7 Additional Regional Transport Offices (ARTOs) at sub-divisional levels and having its headquarter for State Transport Department (STD) in Writers Building, Kolkata. A pilot project on the implementation of VAHAN and SARATHI application software was designed and customized by the NIC in July 2004 for the Public Vehicles Department (PVD), Kolkata. The successful implementation of this pilot project has prompted the department to roll-out the computerization programme for all its offices spread over the state. At present VAHAN is operational at 19 Offices and SARATHI is operational at 9 sites. The building/civil infrastructure for hosting the computerized centres is being made ready from the budget of the State Government. Moreover, minimum level of computer hardware/software to kick-start the project in other districts is being procured from the state government funds. However, funding from Government of India for IT hardware and infrastructure will give the necessary fillip to the programme. The present project is for obtaining the required assistance from Government of India so that computerization can be done at the optimal level in West Bengal

Contact Details

National Informatics Centre
West Bengal State Centre
Vidyut Bhawan Gr. Floor
Block-DJ, Sector II
Salt Lake City , Kolkata-700091